D&D Saturday: Vampire Hunter Prestige Class

D&D LogoWelcome back to D&D Saturday.  As we mentioned yesterday, we are continuing our Halloween month theme and presenting one of the first new prestige classes for 5th Edition Dungeons & Dragons.

Consider this a prototype of what prestige classes will look like in D&D 5e, as well as a nice addition to the Halloween theme for this month, as we debut the new Prestige Class  of … the Vampire Hunter.  Ever wanted to be Simon Belmont, Buffy, or Dr. Rudolph Van Richten?  Here’s your chance.

Vampire Hunter

In all the various worlds, no undead brings more dread than a vampire.  They bring a sense of intellect and debonair that no other evil creature seems to have.  Some, like Count Van Strahd of Ravenloft, are among the biggest names of D&D lore.

One night, after surviving an encounter with a vampire, your patron god (usually the one you primarily worship, but if that god doesn’t particularly give a dang about the undead, it is a god on good terms to him) visits you in a dream and gives you his approval to be part of a network or lineage of vampire hunters, giving you special abilities which in turn your PC will use to end the menace of vampires.

Vampire Hunter 
Level  Features
1       Expertise, Sacred Flame cantrip
2       First Level Spell, Ability Bonus
3       Favored Enemy, First Level Spell
4       First Level Spell, Ability Bonus
5       Holy weapon, Branding Smite


Dexterity 13 — Vampire killing requires precision targeting with particular items.

Wisdom 13 — Fools who chase after vampires do not last long

Proficiency in the Religion Skill — Much of the items and techniques involved in destroying the Nosferatu have a basis in religion.

Character Level 5th — Vampire hunting is not for novices.  If one has the Vampirologist background, you may ignore this particular requirement.

Complete a special task — You must have been involved in a fight with a Vampire and survived somehow…you need not have succeeded in killing it, but you must have been in a situation to have learned from the experience.  You may only take the 3rd level if you have beaten one vampire with your new abilities, and 5th level only after defeating another vampire.

Class Features:

As a vampire hunter, you gain the following class features.

Hit Points.

Hit Dice: 1d10 per vampire hunter level

Hit Points per Level: 1d10 (or 6) + your Constitutional modifier per vampire hunter level.


Tools: Slayer tools (think wooden stakes, garlic bulbs, etc.),

Saving Throws: None

Skills: None


Vampirologist pack (contains garlic, holy symbol, mallet, mirror, rope, and wooden stakes ), silver short sword

Archetype advancement

Your levels of vampire hunter stack with your main character class in determination of when you acquire your archetype abilities


If you have a spellcasting class, your levels of vampire hunter and your main spellcasting level stack in terms of how many spells per day you can cast, and what level of spell you can cast.


At 1st level, whenever you attack a vampire or a minion of a vampire, and weapon made of silver you carry becomes a magic weapon.  Your silver short sword becomes a Silver Short Sword +X, where X equals your vampire hunter level

Sacred Flame

At 1st level you gain the Sacred Flame cantrip, as per the PHB.  Wisdom is your spellcasting ability for your vampire spells.  If you already have this cantrip, you gain a cantrip representative of your patron god.

First Level Spells

At 2nd level, choose from Compelled Duel, Heroism, or Searing Smite.  This spell is now considered always prepared for you.  If you not have a spellcaster class already, you cast spells as a paladin of the same level as your vampire hunter level.  Choose an additional spell from this list at 3rd and 4th level.

Ability Bonus

As one becomes a vampire hunter, one can not help but become quicker and wiser.  At 2nd and 4th levels add +1 to both your Dexterity and Wisdom scores.

Favored Enemy

At 3rd level you gain Undead as a Favored Enemy, as per the Ranger class ability.  If you already have this as a favored enemy, you gain favored enemy status over a foe your patron god would most likely not like.

Branding Smite

At 5th level you gain the spell Branding Smite as a permanent prepared spell.

Holy Weapon

At 5th level, your patron god is happy with your performance in vanquishing vampires.  You are given a copy of whatever weapon is your favorite weapon to use, but this weapon is magical and holy, with a +5 enhancement and deals radiant damage.  Should you ever engage in battle with the undead it immediate teleports into your hand, regardless of the distance needed for this to be achieved.

2 comments on “D&D Saturday: Vampire Hunter Prestige Class

  1. […] existence between life and death, you have sworn fealty to the vampire, protecting them from vampire hunters that may be able to hurt them.  There is a good chance you had studied vampires your entire […]

  2. […] Vampire Hunter Prestige Class – Icygeek.com […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.